Jump to content

Rule 15 does not seem to be implemented going downwind


Recommended Posts

In Virtual Regatta inshore it is way too easy to imply a penalty to another boat just by sailing downwind close & windward of another boat and then doing a sudden jibe (acquiring the right of way). This is because Rule 15 does not seem to be implemented in a good way downwards.

Rule 15 “When a boat acquires right of way, she shall initially give the other boat room to keep clear, unless she acquires right of way because of the other boat's actions."

Edited by kristian
  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 months later...

One easy way to make the sailing a lot more realistic is to implement a rule that says that the boat who make a sudden move to deliberatly crash into another is the one thats get the penalty.

The first rule in real sailing is to avoid collisions, steer away if an opportunity present it self. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...