Virtual Regatta Club House

Waypoint Navigation help please?

Congo

Hi, I'm new to VR (3 weeks)  and I am having a very difficult time finding any info on both Inshore and Offshore.

I've made official requests and I get referred to a very simplistic "Help Centre" which has not been of much help unfortunately.

Most importantly, I would like to access a game manual and a set of rule books if they exist.

I am participating in 3 offshore races, but I am really confused about waypoint navigation. In the help centre, it says:

"trust waypoints, especially near the coast" or similar.....

So, my questions....

1. Does the boat auto tack / gybe as required while seeking the next waypoint?

(I know you need auto sail for the sail changes if required, that's not what I mean)

2. Does the boat use best sheeting angle or auto VMG if Q1. above is TRUE?

3. Does the boat avoid grounding and obstacles if Q1. above is true, and if so,

does it get back on course for the waypoint as soon as the danger is passed?

Currently, I'm using Auto TWA because I don't know if the boat is going to luff up into the wind after a wind change while I

am offline, and I didn't learn the programming yet because I don't even understand the waypoint function thoroughly.

Edited by Congo
accuracy, grammar

Hi Congo,

welcome in VR. herebelow weblink to some guidance that was very helpful for me (special thanks to Serge Martinez )

www.martinez58400.wixsite.com/navigationvirtuelle

as far as your questions are concerned ( and if i understood you well...)

1. Yes, at WP the boat automatically gybe to the next WP set up. Sails remain the same unless you have also set up auto sails

2. No, you have to set up visually your WP as much as possible closer to the optimum VMG. if you look for VMG ste up, it might be better to use timer settings and block wind angle function.

3. No, If your WP ste up comes across lands your boat is going to stop and to stay there. Your WP settings are automaticaly lost.