Virtual Regatta Club House

Penalty for maneuvering?

Congo

Hi,

I just realised I am probably making a huge mistake when sailing VR Offshore,

and I don't know what to do, so could someone please help me?

I am new to VR, and I don't use any third party software to assist with navigation as yet.

VR Support is extremely vague on all subjects regarding course navigation, and I want

to know what truly happens when I sail VR, and how my actions affect the progress of my

races.

To deduce my next heading change, whether to use waypoints, programmation or whatever,

I use the advanced wind tool as a temporary marker for comparison of predicted positions

when I make temporary course changes for comparison purposes.

I compare different routes every few seconds, and the course changes are almost always activated

before I can deduce whether they are beneficial or not. I may make a dozen or so comparisons

before settling on my preferred course of choice.

I noticed that you can buy "Winches Pro" which "reduces maneuvering time".

VR support is very vague about this feature, so my question is how long does it slow me down

each time I change course, by what percentage does it slow me down, and are the penalties

cumulative or consecutive, as I could easily be losing hours of race time just making a decision on a

change of course using my methods...... !

Please help me !

Congo on "Integrity"

* VR developers, maybe change the interface so we can activate the course changes manually

when we are finished our calculations, rather than automatically after a few seconds please?

Or, at least and option to do that if we choose, the interface is so very cumbersome and simplistic

with little explanation on how VR actually really works.

Edited by Congo
clarity

Should I be selecting "Winches Pro" rather than "Light Wind Sails" when I fit out my boat for the race?

I only get 2000VR to spend, so I can only choose one upgrade :P